Virginia Racing Commission

MINUTES

OF THE

COMMISSION MEETING

December 15, 2021

Colonial Downs Ballroom, 4th Floor 10515 Colonial Downs Parkway New Kent, VA 23124

In Attendance Virtually Commission Members:

J. Sargeant Reynolds, Jr., Chairman Stuart Siegel, Vice Chairman John F. Tanner Jr. Marsha K. Hudgins Stephanie B. Nixon

Commission Staff:

David S. Lermond, Jr., Executive Secretary Kimberly C. Mackey, Director of Operations Dr. Ada Caruthers, Equine Medical Director Rhonda Davis, Director of Pari-Mutuels and Licensing

Attorney General's Office:

Elizabeth B. Myers, Esquire

At 11:06 a.m., Chairman Reynolds called the monthly meeting of the Virginia Racing Commission (VRC) to order.

Vice Chairman Siegel moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on June 14, 2021. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Chairman Reynolds moved to approve the Significant Infrastructure Limited License application submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC, which included Thoroughbred race days for 2022 with the conditions set forth in the staff report. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Vice Chairman Siegel moved to approve the License applications submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC to Conduct Pari-Mutuel Wagering on Historical Horse Racing at Rosie's – New Kent, Rosie's – Richmond, Rosie's – Vinton, Rosie's – Hampton, and Rosie's – Dumfries, Rosie's - Collinsville for 2022 with the conditions set forth in the staff reports. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Vice Chairman Siegel moved to approve the 2022 Advance Deposit Wagering (ADW) renewal license applications submitted by Twinspires, TVG, Xpressbet, and NYRAbets. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Commissioner Hudgins moved to approve the VEA operating budget for 2022. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairman Siegel and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Commissioner Hudgins moved to approve the VTA breeders fund administration budget for 2022. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Vice Chairman Siegel moved to approve Breeder Awards in the amount of \$975,000 and Stallion Awards in the amount of \$75,000 from the Thoroughbred portion of the Virginia Breeders Fund related to 2021. The motion was seconded by Chairman Reynolds and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Commissioner Nixon moved to approve the VHHA breeders fund administration budget for 2022. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Vice Chairman Siegel moved to approve the Virginia Breeders Fund to partially fund eight Virginia-bred stake races contested at Shenandoah Downs in the amount of \$200,000. The motion was seconded by Chairman Reynolds and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Commissioner Hudgins moved to approve the additional VHHA benevolence funds for injured drivers. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.

Debbie Warnick reported on harness racing at Shenandoah Downs.

With no further business set forth on the agenda, Chairman Siegel moved to adjourn the meeting at 1:01 p.m. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Nixon and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.